Kentucky Derby Fashion

4 May

One event that has and will always be on my bucket list is the Kentucky Derby. It involves all of my favorite things:

1. Prepped out attire is required

2. Day drinking

3. Sun (hopefully)

I hope to make it there one day and hopefully it is sooner rather than later.

How could you look at this picture and not have the urge to run (not walk) to Kentucky?

I have that Vineyard Vines dress (last year’s). One of my favorite summer dresses.

If I were to attend the Kentucky Derby this year I would probably be wearing something like you see below. Wedges are a must as you don’t want to be sinking into the grass and after a few bevy’s the extra support is necessary. A monogrammed hat is a no-brainer and needs no explanation. I love this dress for its color and cut. The pastel, light colors are perfect for the Kentucky Derby and the cut will keep you cool in the hot southern sun. I can rarely be found without my pearl earrings on but I don’t wear pearl necklaces nearly enough. This would be the perfect excuse to bust out my pearl layers.

Have you been to the Kentucky Derby? What would you wear?

Want to see more Kentucky Derby Fashion? Head over to {av}’s Friday’s Fancy link up.

(images 1,2)

*************

Things that make me happy today:

1. Friday

2. Cinco de Mayo tomorrow!

3. Home on Sunday for some much-needed Dad advice

2 Responses to “Kentucky Derby Fashion”

  1. Lauren May 6, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    i love the pearls + monogramming!

    - l

  2. soanthro May 4, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    This outfit is perfection. I so cannot wait for the day I finally get to go :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 60 other followers

