Superbowl Sunday

7 Feb

I figured Superbowl Sunday was a perfect day to begin my blog since for the past four years it has a been a prominent day in my life and thus, is forcing me to reflect on my life. Besides the basics, I do not know much about football. I could name ten players, maybe. I have never really cared who was playing unless it was Patriots, my local team. Superbowl Sunday has been important to me for different reasons. I majored in Communications and I watched the Superbowl for the commercials. Always being focused on one day working in an Advertising Agency, analyzing the commercials was always a favorite assignment of mine.

This is my first Superbowl since graduating. Had you asked me one year ago what I would be doing with my life one year from that moment, I wouldn’t have guessed this reality that I am currently in. I thought I would be living in a converted brownstone, working at one of the top 3 Advertising Agencies, and have an exploding social calendar. I worked hard in school, had a bunch of internships, and networked according. While my life isn’t exactly as I had pictured it, it isn’t bad. I love where I live, I have a great first job, and my social calendar keeps my busy. There are just a few things I wish I had known. Looking back on the steps I took after graduation, there are many things I wish I had done differently. I wish there was a resource I could have gone to for information. A survival guide. While I do not have all the answers, I do have experience, stories, and advice.

This day makes me think about my chosen career path. Advertising is something I have always been passionate about, oddly, since a very young age. I never once questioned the drive I had towards achieving my goal of working for a big agency. I never once asked myself is this really want you want to do? Can you see your self doing this for the next million years. I loved all my advertising classes, why wouldn’t I love it as a job? While I still do enjoy advertising, and am currently enjoying these Superbowl ads, I have begun to rethink what I want with my life. What I truly enjoy. What I can see myself doing everyday for who knows how long. My conclusion: it is not advertising. I haven’t fully figured out what I want to do with my life, but I do feel I am getting closer to figuring it all out.

I never thought life post-grad would be this hard. I have never been more emotional, or broke. I have always made it a point to not wish time away, yet now, I find every Monday that I wish I could skip the week and get right to Friday. No one prepares you for this, at least I never got any advice about it.

Right now, I am not exactly sure what the point of this blog is, but I do know one thing, it is an outlet to keep me happy. It will be my domain to discuss and share everything and anything that makes me smile and helps me get myself through this weird emotional stage in my life. I hope it helps.

Things that make me happy today:

  1. Celtics games with the family
  2. Trader Joe’s Gnocchi
  3. My gold card from Starbucks (today I used my free drink!)
One Response to “Superbowl Sunday”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Birthday Blog « Sprinkles On Everything - February 7, 2012

    […] Read my first post ever, here. […]

Leave a Reply

