La Bella Vita

27 Apr

A few days ago I had a craving for a fresh, rich and delicious pasta dish. Not sure exactly what I wanted, I went to the grocery store and browsed around until something sparked my interest. I decided on fresh cherry tomatoes, fresh brocollini, Mozzarella, Italian sausage, penne, and pesto. Pesto is one of my favorite “sauces” especially home-made. The grocery store near my parents house sells a local homemade version that is delicious and I had to take the opportunity to use it. I didn’t use a real recipe but here is what I did:

1 lb of Penne Pasta
1 lb of Sweet Italian sausage, casings removed
1 bunch of Brocollini
1 bunch of Cherry Tomatoes
6 oz. of Pesto
1/3 of a ball of fresh Mozzarella, cut into small pieces
Salt
Pepper
High quality olive oil

Pre-heat oven to 400 degrees. Use two separate baking sheets (feel free to use one) and line one with halved cherry tomatoes and one with the brocollini. Sprinkle the tomatoes and brocollini with olive oil, salt, and pepper and place in the oven for 15-20 minutes until roasted. While vegetables are roasting, cook the sausage in a frying pan until fully cooked. Cook pasta and drain. Once everything is cooked and ready, combine all with pesto, add cheese and serve! It was very delicious and made me excited for all of the fresh vegetables that come with summer!

Things that make me happy today:

1. Making old music new again

2. Running getting easier

3. Eliminating my daily soda

4 Responses to “La Bella Vita”

  1. Ashley April 27, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Thanks for the recipe! I am definitely going to try this one!

  2. daily mix LA April 27, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    that looks delish!!

  3. potpie du monde April 27, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    That looks so delicious! Thanks for sharing- love your blog!

  4. Christine April 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    omg that looks amazing.

Leave a Reply

