“Orange you glad I didn’t say banana?”

10 May

While catching up on my Vogue Daily this morning I read an interesting article. Vogue declared the signature color of summer: Bright Orange. When it comes to trends, I’ll admit it, I tend to be a hypocrite. I have been known to bash trends when I first see them but after seeing it over and over again, I usually end up embracing and loving it (Ex: Ray-Ban Wafers a few years ago and fur vests). I am always trying to improve myself and this is one thing I am trying to work on. I have pledged to not make any rash decisions but instead wait it out, see the trend used in many different ways, and then decide if I want to try it. When reading this article I realized that I had unknowingly bought into this trend about a month ago when I bought this skirt (trendsetter? maybe one day):

Mini Skirt with Pockets: Zara $59.90

Without realizing it, I had embraced a trend that if I had thought too long about, I probably would have rejected. Proof that I shouldn’t judge a chicken before it hatches (made up saying? check). Now I love/want/need everything bright orange. I can easily see it becoming a “neutral” in my wardrobe. Paired with bright neons, stripes, polka dots, floral, brown, white, etc. The only thing I cant see it working with is black (Halloween). I love when trying new things works out. Check out some inspiration:

Flit A Bit: OPI

 

Coral Link Necklace: Kenneth Jay Lane $80

 

Irene Linen Wide Leg Pants: J.Crew $170

 

Raffia Tote: Versace $1295

 

 

 Ruffle Bikini: Old Navy, $22.50, $19.50

 

Things that make me happy today:

1. High ballerina bun

2. Half priced frappuccino

3. Blue nail polish

2 Responses to ““Orange you glad I didn’t say banana?””

  1. soanthro May 11, 2011 at 9:16 am #

    I bought an orange shirt last summer but was so nervous to wear it because of its brightness– this year though, totally embracing it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. This Trend Has Me Hooked « Sprinkles On Everything - May 24, 2011

    […] about new trends, I often surprise myself by realizing I have already embraced it. (This happened here). Recently I purchased this vest and an open stitch sweater from express (no longer online), both […]

Leave a Reply

