Guest Post: Ten Scenic Drive

14 Jul
I want to introduce all of you to Kristin from Ten Scenic Drive. I look forward to reading Kristin’s blog everyday. She mixes her humor with a great sense of style and always is having a good time. Be sure to check out her blog for even more awesomeness. Below she shares her Summer Staples, thanks for posting Kristin!
 
*************
 
Hi readers of Sprinkles on Everything! Kristin here from Ten Scenic Drive. I don’t know about you but I am alreaday so wrapped up in the amazingness that is summer and I am absolutely loving every minute of it! When Emily asked me to guest post on summer essentials, I decided to give you guys snapshot of my top five favorite things about summer tiiiiiiiiiiime! Hope you enjoy!
 
  
Beach days
There is literally nothing better than a day at the beach, toes in the sand and soaking up the sunshine!  I am a Jersey girl at heart and have always spent summers on the best spot the Jersey shore has to offer, Long Beach Island. I love lying in the sand, jumping in the waves, indulging in great beach reads and spending the day in the sun with friends and family.
 
 
Summer cocktails
For some reason, drinks just taste better in the summer when you can sip them outside on a patio on a summer friday, dontchya think? I just discovered the most amazing summer cocktail which I have to share! Cucumber-jalapeno-vodka-lemonade. It is delicious with a capital D. Just take 1 part vodka to 1 part lemonade, a splash of sparkling water, then toss in a few slices of cucumbers and jalapenos. It is a sweet and spicy refreshing glass of goodness. 
 
 
Outdoor Concerts
One of my all-time favorite summer activities! I am a lover of all kinds of music and pretty much try to go to any concert that comes to town. So far this year I have already been to my fair share of summer shows including Ray Lamontagne, OAR, Bon Jovi and some fabulous local Columbus bands. I am secretly dying for Bruce Springsteen to go back on tour since one of my favorites to see live (those of you who read my blog know that I have a serious weakness for Bruce)!
 
 
Summer Style
Oh denim shorts and flip flops, summer dresses and bathing suits, how I love you so! Warm weather outfits are my fave, so easy breezy and care-free. I could seriously live in my flip flops, with perfectly pedicured toes of course! Two swim brands I am completely crushing on this summer are Gilly Hicks and Sea Folly, such cute and girly suits!
 
 
Ice Cream
I am a foodie through and through, and there is nothing I love more than a giant, messy ice cream cone. Sooooo good! It reminds me of the summer days when I used to run outside at the sound of the ice cream truck coming around the block to get a choco-taco or bubble-play ice pop with my baby-sitting money! These days my ice cream choices are a bit more sophisticated (can ice cream even be sophisticated?) and lately I have been obsessing over Jeni’s ice cream, a local favorite here in Columbus where you can get all kinds of interesting flavors from salty caramel to poached pear riesling. YUM!
Well I hope you are all having an amazing summer so far complete with all of your favorite summer essentials! Come check out Ten Scenic Drive for more inspiration on fashion, travel, food and pretty much anything that’s on my mind! Thanks for having me Emily!
xxKristin
 
2 Responses to “Guest Post: Ten Scenic Drive”

  1. Drew July 14, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    Nothing says summer more than ice cream, concerts and the beach!

  2. ashley July 14, 2011 at 11:05 am #

    love it!!!!!

Leave a Reply

