My New Room

4 Aug

As of September 1st my two current roommates are moving out. One is moving back home and the other is moving in with her boyfriend. I am very sad for them to leave and know it will be very weird to not have them around. One even has a Yorkie who I have fallen in love with this past year which will make it even harder. I don’t deal very well with change but as we all know its inevitable so I guess I have to learn.

Also as of September 1st two of my other friends from my sorority will be moving in. Yay! Senior year they were roommates and I basically lived in their room all the time so I know we will get along famously. Besides the obvious bonus of saving money by not paying all the fees associated with getting a new apartment, I am also moving bedrooms. Right now I have the smallest bedroom which actually isn’t that small at all but I will be moving all my stuff across the hall and into a larger room. This is exciting for many reasons. One, I can finally bring my desk back in the room (didn’t have room before) and two, it’s a clean slate and I can start over decorating. As you can tell from my recent posts I have been into light, bright, airy, romantic and girlie rooms and I plan to channel that inspiration into my new abode. I bought this comforter last year and plan to keep it:

 

I had been eyeing this beauty for a while on the Garnet Hill website when one day it popped up on Rue La La! I couldn’t resist. I feel it’s a mature version of my obsession with pink and green.

 

I made an inspiration board for when I go shopping for my new room. I don’t know exactly what my budget (or lack there of ) will be so the board has save and splurge items.

 

Lately I have been lusting over Peonies. Even though they are in season for a short time, I want to include them.

An awesome candle is one of my ‘can’t live without’s’ and this new fragrance is a must try.

Lucite is a new to me material that I have been loving. This chair would be a perfect addition.

While I don’t always love matchy-matchy I think this sage green desk would be perfect as it pulls the color from the bedding.

Chevron is everywhere right now and this DIY rug could be a strong contender. (I don’t even have a rug currently!).

I’m not sure of the technical name but I would love a few ‘glass bubble’ lamps. This one is a splurge but stay tuned for another post with a less costly option!

Right now I have all dark furniture. I would love to switch it all out for light and bright options. While I may not be able to afford to switch everything this dresser is exactly what I’m looking for.

 

*************

Things that make me happy today:

1. Taking chances

2. Fun plans after work

3. Cooler weather

7 Responses to “My New Room”

  1. lindsay August 5, 2011 at 9:47 am #

    LOVE that comforter…can’t wait to see the finished product of your room!

  2. Drew August 4, 2011 at 10:50 pm #

    Well that’s quite exciting that you get to redecorate your room with more space! Love the design board you put together!!

  3. belleontheboulevard August 4, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

    Gorgeous room. I’m jealous!

  4. birdie to be August 4, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    I love the pieces you put in the board! That desk is gorgeous!

  5. Alexa August 4, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    Oh room looks like it’s going to be so cute and cozy!
    xo
    Alexa
    http://www.theshortandthesweetofit.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spend or Save – Lighting « Sprinkles On Everything - August 9, 2011

    […] may remember in a recent post (found here) that I mentioned what I like to call “glass bubble lamps”. They have been on my radar […]

Leave a Reply

