Summer Salad

8 Aug

Last weekend was spent at a friend’s house in Connecticut. It was full of best friends, yummy food and good times. The hostess of the mini reunion made the most delicious salad ever and I immediately asked for the recipe. When I was home for my mom’s birthday this past weekend I made the salad. It was just as much a hit with my family as it was with my friends thanks to the fresh summer vegetables, light dressing, and amazing taste. Make it yourself, I promise you won’t be disappointed.

 

Ingredients:

6 ears of corn

3/4 of a ball of fresh mozzarella

1/2 (or 1 small) red onion

1/2 a container of cherry tomatoes

2 avocados

white balsamic vinegar

truffle oil

olive oil

S & P

Cook the corn in your chosen way. I prefer to steam it.

While the corn is cooking, chop the tomatoes, onion, cheese and avocado and place in a serving dish.

When corn is finished cooking, remove warm corn from the cob with the rest of the ingredients. Add enough of each oil and vinegar to moisten the ingredients. The amount could changed based on how fresh the vegetables are among other factors. I used about 3 table spoons of each. Toss everything together with salt and pepper to your liking.

Serve and enjoy! This version feeds up to 8 people but the recipe is very easy to cut in half. You can make it in advance and dress right before serving. Delicious both hot and cold! I can’t wait to have it again.

*************

Things that make me happy today:

1. New spa wrap

2. New a/c for my room

3. my Kindle

6 Responses to “Summer Salad”

  1. lamb August 14, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

    Just realized I left the wrong link! but regardless, you should enter that giveaway on the College Prepster, lol! 🙂 xo lamb loves

  2. lamb August 14, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    Looks delicious! I buy a similar salad at Whole Foods. I will definitely try this recipe instead. Thanks for sharing! xo http://www.thecollegeprepster.com/2011/08/b2s-giveaway-knotty-monkeys-earrings.html

  3. Rachel B August 12, 2011 at 4:41 pm #

    Sounds yummy, easy and healthy! THe perfect trio of cooking!

  4. pinkandplum August 8, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    This looks So tasty- I plan on trying this right away!!

  5. Drew August 8, 2011 at 9:21 pm #

    Yummy!! Looks so refreshing too!!

  6. Karen August 8, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    What a great sounding summer salad. With truffle oil, how could it be bad.

Leave a Reply

