When in doubt wear red

12 Aug

For today’s Friday Fancies {av} challenged us to wear red. While I love this color and it’s ability to make an outfit pop more, appear more polished and ooze confidence, it’s not a color I own much of. While creating this post I tried to think of my own red clothing and realized I have nothing. The only red shirts I own are t-shirts from my sorority where our colors were Cardinal and Straw (a nicer way of saying red and yellow or McDonald’s colors).

When reading magazines lately I have noticed a trend in red pants and have decided I NEED to invest in a pair. I can’t decide if I want red jeans, red chinos or cropped red dress pants…I’m leaning towards the jeans. I love anything nautical, preppy and classic so red pants paired with a classic sailor shirt seems like my ideal fall outfit. Pair that with unexpected leopard print Sperry’s to throw in an unexpected twist.

when in doubt wear red
 

Pants: J Brand – $158

Shirt: A.L.C Britone – $310 (similar style here)

Shoes: Sperry Topsiders – $85 (similar style here)

Bracelet: Yves Saint Laurent – $830

Necklace: Kate Spade – $148

 

*************

Things that make me happy today:

1. It’s friday, friday, friday

2. Lunch dates

3. Beaches

11 Responses to “When in doubt wear red”

  1. www.StarHughes.com August 16, 2011 at 12:52 am #

    I love those shoes!!! So cute! And I love the title of this post too… I need to work on adding some color to my wardrobe! 🙂

  2. typefashion August 15, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    The red just livens up the stripe t-shirt’s ! Love it !

    http://typefashion.wordpress.com/

  3. frillyfabulous August 14, 2011 at 9:25 pm #

    Swooning over the lepord sperrys! I love your nautical outfit too! Nothing beats nautical … it’s timeless & classic!

  4. Ashlyn August 12, 2011 at 4:28 pm #

    wow, too funny! {great minds do think alike}
    love your outfit too!
    thanks for stopping by my blog!
    have a great weekend!

  5. Flora Fricker August 12, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I had the same problem with my Fridays fancies today! I don’t own any red, although i think it always looks great on people. Thanks for commenting on my blog! ♥

  6. Meg August 12, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    those red skinnies are beautiful! i love pairing red with leopard print great job on this outfit!

  7. marian August 12, 2011 at 2:38 pm #

    Love this look! In my eyes, its perfect! Red, gold, leopard print…some of my favorite things!

  8. Stephanie August 12, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Love the Sperrys! So much fun!

  9. Meagan August 12, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    REd and striped tops make a happy Mo. Have a great weekend!

  10. marissa @ the boot August 12, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    love the outfit girl! the stripes are perfect! and so are the leopard shoes, hot!

  11. soanthro August 12, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Aw I love the leopard Sperrys with the red, so fierce!!

Leave a Reply

