Missoni for Target (Update)

13 Sep

I may or may not have woken up early today and dragged my two roomies to Target. We arrived at promptly 7:30 and waited in line with about 10 people for the door to open. By the time the clock was about to strike 8:00 AM, the line had grown to nearly 50 people. The doors opened and panic ensued. It was very comical and I am very glad I experienced it. Needless to say in less than 10 minutes every single item that had something to do with Missoni was off the shelves..cleared out.

When at work today, I found this article about the situation and was glad that I chose to physically go to the store and not wait to purchase online. The store spoken about in the above article was the actual store I went to. See the lady in the blue sweater at the bottom of the article (or below)? Yeah she was a HOARDER. I am pretty sure she was just going to sell everything on eBay. She wanted it all no matter size, color, anything.

via

There she is..the hoarder.
I would love to show you what I bought (flats, scarf, dress and cardigan) but as stated in the article the Target website is STILL down.
woof.
If anyone is concerned about not getting a piece of the treasured pie fear not, they restock, which I learned during the following embarrassing conversation with the check out dude:
Me – So the shelves are empty..do you restock or were we the lucky ones?
Check Out Dude: Well we get 3 truckloads everyday. We don’t know what is going to be on it but we will be getting more product in.
Me – So more Missoni will be on the shelves tomorrow?
Check Out Dude – Correct and more will be arriving through October.
Me – So there was really no reason for us to rush out here, wait in and line and make fools of ourselves?
Check Out Dude – You said it, not me.
Thanks.
Whatever, it was still super entertaining. I had never been to a store before it opened and waited in line for a product. If you haven’t, I highly recommend it, it’s a very funny experience.  I will try to take pictures of my pieces tonight and upload them since Target.com is not cooperating.
—- UPDATE —-
So when I got home today I decided to snap pics of the 4 pieces I purchases. Did any of you snag some of the coveted Missoni??
I’m pretty obsessed with everything. Can I wear it all at once, pretty please?!
Also – still can’t get the skirt out of my mind..might have to venture back.
*************
Things that make me happy today:
1. New nail polish
2. Missoni for Target
3. Green Tea
7 Responses to “Missoni for Target (Update)”

  1. Samantha September 16, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    Saw that story on Boston.com too– can’t believe they let the hoarder do that! Usually they have a X-limit per customer type thing with those special collections [[or so I thought]]. Really hope they get more shipments soon! Really want the scarf, dress and shoes! Great picks!

  2. Molly Galler September 14, 2011 at 11:43 pm #

    I am dying for those flats! So glad you got in and out safely and with your own Missoni! Victory dance!

  3. typefashion September 13, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Loved the collection, but was so confused to find a unique item ! The loafer you got is so cute !

    xoxo

    http://www.typefashion.wordpress.com

  4. Anonymous September 13, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    The key was to go to a Target in a not so ritzy neighborhood; that’s what I did. I got there about 8:20 and there was just one other lady & me getting the stuff. There was plenty to choose from. I am sure after the word got out about crashing web sites & all the fuss….the rest of the stuff was cleaned out by noon. People are crazy if they buy it on ebay. They are going to restock until October. I looked on ebay and already saw crazy people having bidding wars

  5. Suburban Sweetheart September 13, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    I thought about doing this but wasn’t really in love with the line – and by “wasn’t really in love,” I mean, “thought a lot of it was hideous.” But I did still go over to Target on my lunch break & snagged a pair of the black Missoni heels with the white & grey chevrons, which I love. The benefits to living in a small town mean I doubt most people here had any idea this launch was something they were supposed to be excited about!

    • emmyrho13 September 13, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

      I went to the store at South Bay Plaza! It was cleared out but hopefully they will restock soon! there is a skirt I couldn’t get a hold of in my size and it’s sticking in my mind…

  6. Victoria September 13, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

    OMG people are so crazy! I ordered online and am sure a lot of it will not ever get sent since they site was so messed. You’re from Boston right? Which store did you go to?! I should have just taken my boyfriend’s car and gone early.. I am so glad to hear that things will possibly get restocked through October (!!). That woman in blue is nuts, she must have spent thousands. I spent … a lot… and didn’t get anything near the amount she has!

Leave a Reply

