American Made: School House

22 Sep

I super excited for the second installment of my American Made Series. I find it very awesome when companies try hard to keep their products produced fully in the states. It makes me want to support their products knowing that all the money is being spread out amongst my neighbors, coworkers and peers.

With the month of September finally here, School House was an obvious choice. Have you ever walked into your College bookstore to try to find something cute with your college logo only to find that most options are unisex? Well School House is your solution. They make super cute clothes that you can wear to the gym, library, class, roaming around campus and even to that big game coming up.

 

The founder of School House is Rachel Weeks. She is awesome, sweet, creative and very driven. I had the fantastic opportunity to ask Rachel a few questions for this series to learn a little more about her and the company. Be sure to check out the website and buy some really cute clothing. You are sure to be the envy of everyone on campus!

Here is a little bit about Rachel from School House:

“A feminist, Fulbright scholar, social entrepreneur, woman executive, fashionista, and Duke alum, Rachel Weeks is more than just the founder of School House, but our resident expert on everything from entrepreneurship to ethical manufacturing. A 27-year old Greensboro, NC, native, Rachel is as personable as she is passionate. When she’s not concepting our next collection or on the road pitching a new university relationship, she’d be more than happy to speak with you.”

How did you come up with the idea for your brand?

Walking around the Duke Bookstore as an undergraduate, I always felt that there was a lack of interesting, fashion driven, trend right clothing – especially for girls.  I’ve also always had a passion for feminism and ways that we can use “the power of the purse” to support economic opportunities for women all over the world.  The college market seemed like the perfect place to combine fashion and fair labor! 

Do you have a favorite piece from your collection?

I live in our yoga pants.  But our new hot pink cardigans for Yale and the University of Nevada Las Vegas are the cutest things to ever happen to cotton.

 

Who (if anyone) has influenced you the most?

In my personal life, my sister Holly has always been my hero and, essentially, my life coach.  I don’t know what I’d do without her, and she inspires me to be a better person.  In business and fashion, my heroes range from Steve Jobs to Marc Jacobs.  I value creativity, innovation, and market savvy above all else.

Where do you see your brand going in the future?

I see School House becoming a collegiate lifestyle brand that embodies the American university experience and the best of Made in USA craftsmanship.  One dream I have is an NYC flagship store + bar where we can sell all of our university collections in one place.  Can’t wait!

What is your favorite thing to do on your days off?

Flea markets, but I don’t go nearly enough!

Do you have a favorite college memory?

Hosting 1950s-themed cocktail parties for all my friends.  But I loved everything about college–musing on art history in a Red Bull-induced haze, the fake money that was my student ID, and figuring out my place in the world.  Those were the days!

 

 

– – – – – – – – – – – – – –

I hope you all enjoyed learning more about Rachel and her awesome company. Be sure to check out their site and their blog for more information!

P.S. School House is offering all Sprinkles on Everything readers a special 15% off your order when you use the code “SPRINKLES+SH” at check out. The code is good through October 31st so get shopping!!

P.P.S. Be sure to check back soon for some more exciting information on School House!

4 Responses to “American Made: School House”

  1. frillyfabulous September 22, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    What a wonderful company! Loving all of the items too! Heading over now to make a purchase! Thanks for sharing such a great find!

    xo, Cassandra
    frillyfabulous.com

  2. Chelsea September 22, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    Wow, that is such an interesting concept. I love the idea of taking college pieces and making them wearable. Loved the interview- Rachel sounds like one to follow!

    • Tipsy Skipper September 23, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      So glad to learn about this company! What a great line, and we’re always excited to hear about other American brands! Go USA!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Falling for Autumn: Day 4 « Sprinkles On Everything - October 6, 2011

    […] you remember my post from a little while ago, I may or may not have discovered the secret to adorable collegiate […]

Leave a Reply

