Washington D.C.

4 Jan

Every year for Christmas we receive a family vacation. It’s a newer tradition in our household created once both my brother and I were in college as a way to make sure we had a designated family time. Usually we go someplace warm like Key West or St. John (recap here) but this year we are going to Washington D.C. specifically during Cherry Blossom season.

My mom has wanted to take a family vacation there since we were really little and now she is finally getting her chance. I’ve never been there and I couldn’t be more excited to see our Nation’s Capital. Any one been there? What should I make sure we see?

I already know I need to make a stop in Georgetown, what else?

(All images via)

*************

Things that make me happy today:

1. Emails from my readers

2. Feeling positive about 2012

3. Starbucks

6 Responses to “Washington D.C.”

  1. Suburban Sweetheart January 4, 2012 at 2:44 pm #

    Have fun! What time of year are you going? I hope you guys have planned it so that you’re there at the height of Cherry Blossom season – if you go a week too early or too late, you’ll end up with withered buds!

    However, I would advise not going to brunch at Kramerbooks. The food is fine, but there are so many other, more amazing places in town! I say shop for books at kramerbooks (it’s the best bookstore in the world, so cozy!) & then head down the street for brunch at urbana, which is attached to the Palomar Hotel. I’d also advise that you try Hello, Cupcake in Dupont Circle instead of Georgetown Cupcakes – WAY more delicious, I swear it!

    I used to live there – I’m @heysuburban if you have any questions that I can help with! It’s an amazing place to be & to visit. HAVE FUN!

    • emmyrho13 January 4, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

      Our main reason for going is to plan the whole trip around Cherry Blossom season so we will make sure to go then!

      XO

  2. frillyfabulous January 4, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    Washington DC is so pretty! Especially during cherry blossom season! Good call! It’s super clean too .. I’m used to NYC where everything is filthy so DC was so lovely! haha Don’t forget to go to Georgetown Cupcakes!!!

    • emmyrho13 January 4, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

      All these comments are making me even more excited to go…I def can’t forget to go to Georgetown Cupcakes!!

      XO

  3. babelclaire January 4, 2012 at 7:42 am #

    I love DC! Not even sure where to start… Go to the Old Post Office building, there’s a free observation deck… Go to the Newseum – I’m not really a museum person but I loved it! Just walking along the mall from Lincolm Memorial past the Reflecting Pool to the Capitol is one of my favourite things to do… brunch at Kramer Books… And yes Georgetown is fab!

    • emmyrho13 January 4, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

      Thanks for the tips…I’ve heard amazing things about the Newseum so I will make sure to add that to the list!

      XO

Leave a Reply

