American Made: Skipper Bags

5 Jan

Spending every summer on the lake has made me have an intense love affair with all things nautical. When I first stumbled across Skipper Bags I was instantly intrigued. These tote bags are perfect for the beach or even everyday use and even better, they are fully made right here in America. The owner, creator director and founder, Jane Abell, was nice enough to chat with me about her company. Be sure to check out her site here, I know you will love it!

Please tell me a little about your company:

We are a Maryland Company committed to keeping our bags made domestically. With the economy in the tank, it just makes sense to us to keep a few jobs here…every little bit helps! We are not a huge corporation, or a spin-off of another large company-I am the the president as well as creative designer and founder of the company.

Why did you decide to keep everything made right here in America?

It was interesting; when I first embarked on this fun adventure, and needed to grow, I found that many of the manufacturers in the US really just wanted to be the go-between for a big deal in China. We hit a lot of dead ends before finding a small family run sewing company right here in Maryland (Baltimore). Yes, we could have had them made in mass quantity overseas for 1/3 of the price, but this was a decision that just felt like the right thing to do.

How did your company come to be?

Necessity drives invention: It all started with a bag I made for myself, then more for a few friends, and it went from there! I spent my earliest years growing up in the Bahamas (George Town, Exuma), as did my husband- and since we still have family there we still go back frequently. As avid boaters and beach goers, and also the mom of 3 young boys, I have lugged many a different beach bag loaded to the brim….but they just weren’t all that cute or practical enough! I also wanted something that was packable or versatile enough to travel with, or in the case of the medium tote: It makes a great diaper bag or about-town tote! I also wanted something that would last-sun and salt water are good for the soul, but wreak havoc on most fabrics and metals. This is why we use marine grade fabrics finishings. My personal style reflects my upbringing, and I adore anything nautical or coastal-inspired; hence our tag line of “Inspired by the Sea…”

*********

Thanks so much Jane for chatting with me, I really appreciate it!

3 Responses to “American Made: Skipper Bags”

  1. frillyfabulous January 7, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    These bags are absolutely adorable! I love anything nautical themed!! Great interview!.

    Cute new header too, BTW! 🙂

    –cassandra

  2. soanthro January 5, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

    SO adorable! Love supporting anything American-made 🙂

  3. Kelsea January 5, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    Great interview! I love hearing how small companies came to be!

Leave a Reply

